Skip to content

Materials Innovations In Surface Engineering 2023

Conference Chairs

Professor Mingxing Zhang - University of Queensland (UQ)

Professor Mingxing Zhang

Professor Mingxing Zhang’s research interests are in the additive manufacturing of metals and MAX phase materials, high entropy alloys, new alloy design through machine learning and application of crystallography to engineering materials, surface engineering of metals, and grain refinement for cast metals.
Professor Zhang is a world leader in the area of crystallography of phase transformations and its applications in engineering materials, and is recognised as one of the top researchers in the areas of phase transformations, grain refinement for cast metals, additive manufacturing of metals, and surface engineering.
Professor Zhang obtained his Bachelor of Engineering from the Inner Mongolian University of Science and Technology and Master of Engineering from Northwestern Polytechnical University in China. In 1997, he was awarded his PhD degree by the University of Queensland. His research expertise and interests include crystallography of phase transformations, grain refinement and alloy development of aluminium and magnesium alloys, surface modification and coatings, bainitic transformation and bainitic steels.

Dr Tuquabo Tesfamichael - Queensland University of Technology (QUT)

Dr Tuquabo Tesfamichael

Dr Tuquabo Tesfamichael is a Senior Lecturer at the school of Mechanical, Medical and Process Engineering, Faculty of Engineering at QUT. He obtained his PhD from Uppsala University (Sweden) in 2000 following a two-year postdoctoral fellowship at QUT. Dr Tesfamichael’s activities are focused on both teaching and research, including service to the community. He is a member of the Centre for Materials Science and Centre for Biomedical Technologies.
Dr Tesfamichael’s research interests in science and engineering include: thin film technology, nanostructured materials and nanotechnology, metal oxide thin film gas sensors, perovskite solar cells, and nanostuctured metallic glasses for biomedical.
Dr Tesfamichael had secured over $1.3 million in research grants and awards. He has published over 70 research journal articles with over 1,400 citations. Dr Tesfamichael has gained extensive teaching and research experience, supervising 11 PhD students to completion. He is currently supervising five PhD students.

Conference Organizing Committee

  • Prof. Mingxing Zhang (The University of Queensland)
  • Dr. Tuquabo Tesfamichael (Queensland University of Technology)
  • Mr. David Haynes (Orrcon Steel | Materials Australia Queensland Branch President)
  • Dr. Richard Clegg (Explicom - Engineering Investigators)
  • Ms. Tanya Smith (Materials Australia)
  • Dr. Hamid Pourasiabi (The University of Queensland)
  • A/Prof. Daniel Fabijanic (Deakin University)
  • Dr. Sebastian Thomas (Monash University)

For further information about MISE2023, contact Tanya Smith on or +61 3 9326 7266.